5 NSW towns bid to be zero net energy towns

Posted 21 October 2014

Five towns in NSW have put their hands up to become the first zero net energy town (ZNET) in the state – and indeed the country.

The New England towns of Walcha, Manilla, Tenterfield, Uralla and Bingara all made applications to become a signature town of the 21st Century and a centre of green innovation.

The initiative – backed by the NSW state government – will see one of those towns develop a master plan to generate at least 100 per cent of their energy needs from renewable energy – through solar, wind, biomass, hydro or other, as well as energy efficient lighting and demand management. A total of 18 consultancies and engineering firms applied to help develop the plan.

Read more